Prof. Adebiyi Daramola

Adebiyi Daramola, attended University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University), Nigeria for Bachelor’s degree (B.Sc, 1980). Thereafter, he proceeded to the University of Ibadan, Nigeria for Master’s and Doctorate degrees in Agricultural Economics (M.Sc, 1982 & PhD, 1987). Between 1990 and 1991 he was a Postdoctoral fellow at the Center for Advanced Training in Agricultural Economics, Department of Agricultural Economics and Business Management, University of New England, Armidale NSW 2351, Australia. He started his career at the Federal University of Technology, Akure (FUTA), Nigeria as an academic staff in 1986. He was appointed Professor of Agricultural Economics on October 01, 1999. He served as Chief Editor, African Journal of Agricultural Economics (AfJARE) between 2010 and 2013. He has held many influential positions within and outside the university among which include chairing several statutory committees and headship of departments. He has served as the sixth substantive Vice Chancellor of FUTA (2012 – 2017). Chairman, Committee of Vice Chancellors (CVC) and Association of Vice Chancellor of Nigerian Universities (AVCNU), two positions he held concurrently between 2015 and 2017.

He has undertaken many diverse engagements for many national and international organizations. The details of the assignments in terms of nature, complexity, diversity and duration can be found in his curriculum vitae. Some of the organizations consulted for include International Labour Organization (UN-ILO), Ford Foundation/Community Development Foundation (FF/CDF), Ciba-Geigy, KPMG (PMAO & Co), Chemonics Inc, Technoserve Inc, International Finance Corporation (IFC), Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO), United States Agency for International Development (USAID), Department for International Development (UK-DfID), European Commission (EC), National Resources Institute (NRI), African Development Bank (AfDB), World Bank etc. Given his wealth of experience, Prof. Daramola is currently serving as the Chairman of the Board at Blackstone Capital Limited.